Mawazo Learning Exchange (MLEx) Fellowship 2020 for Female African PhD Scholars:

Applications are invited for the Mawazo Learning Exchange (MLEx) Fellowship 2020 for Female African PhD Scholars in accredited universities in East Africa. This opportunity is open to female africans pursuing a doctoral research in the nexus agriculture/food security and gender in an accredited university in Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda. Females who believe they qualify are welcome to apply.

The Mawazo Institute is a non-profit research institute based in Nairobi, Kenya with a mission to support the next generation of female scholars and thought leaders in East Africa, and to get policymakers and the general public engaged with their work.  They envision a world in which the ideas and voices of African women are amplified to shape the future of the continent.

This is a one-year non-residential fellowship for
young African women enrolled in PhD programmes at accredited universities in East Africa. Fellows will receive a discretionary stipend of US$500, data bundles and participate in a virtual training programme, doubled with mentorship and networking.

Also Apply: Tsinghua University CSC Scholarship 2021 – Fully Funded


  • A stipend worth $500.
  • Participation in Mawazo’s in-house virtual professional development and leadership training programme, MLEx.
  • Data bundles to access and use MLEx.
  • Research and editorial support from the Mawazo staff and partners.
  • Mentorships, as well as exposure to leaders from academia,
    industry, government and other sectors.
  • Visibility via Mawazo digital platforms and events.

Documents Required:

  • A completed online application form.
  • A current 2-page CV.
  • A letter of current enrollment in an accredited PhD programme.
  • A letter confirming that applicants have completed their course work (if applicable) and passed their departmental defence.
  • A recommendation letter from applicants’ PhD supervisors.
  • A recommendation letter from applicants’ second referee.
  • A completed budget and timeline for applicants’ projects (Please download the template here)
  • A completed budget narrative of not more than 500 words. 

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Applicants must be women below the age of 40 as of 1st January 2021.
  • Applicants must be citizens of an African country.
  • Applicants must be enrolled in a PhD programme at an accredited university in Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania or Uganda.
  • Applicants must be available to fully participate in the programme in 2021-2022.

Application Deadline:

27th November 2020.

Also Apply: Renmin University CSC Scholarships 2021 in China – Fully Funded

Application Process:

Interested applicants should visit the official link below for more information and apply:

Click Here To Apply


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *